MoEF > Division > Environment Divisions > Wetlands > Ramsar Convention

Ramsar Convention

The ‘Convention on Wetlands’ called the Ramsar Convention, signed in Ramsar, Iran, in 1971, is an intergovernmental treaty which provides the framework for national action and international cooperation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands and their resources. Wetlands are the only ecosystem to have a dedicated multilateral environmental agreement of their own, the Ramsar Convention. Currently,  there are 170 Contracting Parties to the Convention, with 2300 wetland sites, totaling over 2.1 million sq kms, designated as Wetlands of International Importance.

Under the “three pillars” of the Convention, the Contracting Parties commit to:

  • work towards the wise use of all their wetlands;
  • designate suitable wetlands for the list of Wetlands of International Importance (the “Ramsar List”) and ensure their effective management;
  • cooperate internationally on transboundary wetlands, shared wetland systems and shared species.

For details visit ramsar.org

  1. List of Ramsar sites in India
  2. Ramsar Sites of India – Factsheets