Number of Problem areas identified so far and what is their status in respect of the control of pollution from the industries existing in these areas?

24 Problem Areas have been identified for priority action in the country. Out of these 24 areas, the action plans have been implemented in respect of 16 namely, Bhadravati, Chembur, Digboi, Gobindgarh, Greater-Cochin, Kala-Amb, Manali, Nagda-Ratlam, North-Arcot, Pali, Parwanoo, Patancheru-Bollaram, Talcher, Vapi, Vishakhapatnam and Ankleshwar, and are under implementation in the remaining 8, namely Dhanbad, Durgapur, Howrah, Jodhpur, Korba, Najafgarh Drain Basin Delhi, Singrauli, and Tarapur There are total of 152 large and medium polluting industries located in these areas, out of which 17 are closed and all the remaining 134 industries have provided the requisite pollution control facilities.