## F.No. 2/40/2005–ESZ (RE)-part file Government of India Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change (ESZ Division) \*\*\*\*\*

Indira Paryavaran Bhawan, Jor Bagh Road, Ali Ganj New Delhi – 110003

Dated: 14<sup>th</sup> March, 2017

## OFFICE MEMORANDUM

## Subject: Reconstitution of Monitoring Committee under the Notification S.O. No. 52 (E) dated the 17<sup>th</sup> January, 2001 (Mahabaleshwar Panchghani Notification) declaring Mahabaleshwar Panchghani and surrounding region in the State of Maharashtra as Eco-sensitive Zone.

In pursuance of the Notification S.O. No. 52 (E) dated the 17<sup>th</sup> January, 2001 (Mahabaleshwar Panchghani Notification) declaring Mahabaleshwar Panchghani and surrounding region in the State of Maharashtra as Eco-sensitive Zone, and under the provisions of sub-section (3) of section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 (29 of 1986) the Government of India, in the Ministry of Environment & Forest hereby reconstitutes the Monitoring Committee comprising of the following:-

Sl. No.	Name and Designation	Position
1	Dr. Ankur Patwardhan, Pune.	Chairman
2	District Collector, Satara, Maharashtra	Member
3	Chief Conservator of Forest, Maharashtra	Member
4	Director, Municipal Administration,	Member
	Government of Maharashtra, Mumbai	
5	Deputy Director, Town Planning, Pune	Member
	Division, Government of Maharashtra	
6	Representative of Maharashtra Pollution	Member
	Control Board	
7	Representative of CPCB, Parivesh Bhawan,	Member
!	New Delhi	
8	Director General, All India Institute of Local Self	Member
	Govt., Mumbai	
9	Dr. Rahul Mungikar, , Nagpur.	Member
10	Chief Executive Officer, Satara, Maharashtra	Member Secretary

- 2. The terms of reference of the Monitoring Committee are as follows:-
  - (i) To ensure monitoring of compliance of the provisions of the (Mahabaleshwar Panchghani Notification) declaring Mahabaleshwar Panchghani and surrounding region in the State of Maharashtra as Eco-sensitive Zone published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary Part Il Section (3) Sub-Section (ii), S.O. No. 52 (E) dated the 17<sup>th</sup> January, 2001.
  - (ii) To discharge the functions specifically enumerated in the Notification and do all things incidental thereto (except the functions as are required to be performed by the Central Government under the provisions of the Environment Impact Assessment (EIA) Notification of 14<sup>th</sup> September, 2006 as amended from time to time).
- 3. The Committee or any officer or member of the Monitoring Committee authorized by the Committee shall file complaints under Section 19 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, if offences under the said Act came to the notice of the Committee.
- 4. The orders/directions issued by Hon'ble NGT/Supreme Court/ High Court/District Court as the case may be from time to time w.r.t. Mahabaleshwar Panchghani Eco-sensitive zone shall be complied with by the State Government and the Monitoring Committee.
- 5. The tenure of the Committee is for a period of three years and can be subsequently extended by the Government of India, if necessary.
- 6. The expenditure on the Monitoring Committee shall be met by the Government of Maharashtra.
- 7. The Monitoring Committee shall meet at least once in a month and dispose of its assignments within a period of 90 days.
- 8. The quorum for the Monitoring Committee shall not be less than five members including the Chairman.

TA/DA to the non-official members of the Committee shall be met by the Government of Maharashtra as per the State Government rules.

(Lalit I apur) Advisor (Email: l.kapur@nic.in)

2

To,

9.

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai.
- 2. The Principal Secretary, Department of Environment, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai-400 032.
- 3. The Secretary, Department of Forests, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai- 400 032.
- 4. The Secretary, Department of Urban Development, Government of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai-400 032.
- 5. The Chairman and the Members of the Monitoring Committee.
- 6. Guard File.

## Copy to:

- 1. PS-to MOS (I/C), Environment and Forests.
- 2 PPS to Secretary (EF&CC).
- 3. PPS to AS (AP).