## No. J-15012/1/2007-IA.II (T) Government of India Ministry of Environment and Forests

Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, Lodi Road, New Delhi-110003

Dated: 14th June, 2010

## **ORDER**

In supersession of the order no. J-15012/1/2007-IA.II (T) dated 11<sup>th</sup> May, 2007, the Government of India in Ministry of Environment and Forests hereby constitutes the Expert Appraisal Committee for environmental appraisal of Thermal power and Coal Mine Projects in terms of the provisions of the EIA Notification No. S.O. 1533 (E) dated 14<sup>th</sup> September, 2006 with the following composition:-

S.No.	Name and Organisation	
1.	Shri V.P.Raja, Chairman Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission, 13 <sup>th</sup> Floor, Centre No. 1, World Trade Centre, Cuffe parade, Colaba, Mumbai- 400 005	Chairman
2.	Prof. K.K.S. Bhatia, Director Modinagar Institute of Technology, MIT Modinagar - 201204	Member
3.	Shri Jawahar Lal Mehta Former Director(Planning & Projects) Neyveli Lignite Corporation Limited, Shanti Vihar, 514-A, Aryapuri Ratu Road, Ranchi-834001. Jharkhand	Member
4.	Prof. C.R.Babu Centre for Environmental Management of Degraded Ecosystems, School of Environmental Studies, University of Delhi, Delhi-110 007.	Member

	Representative of Director General	Member
5.	Indian Meteorological Department, not below the rank of Additional Director	
6.	Prof. G.S.Roonwal Prof. (Retired) Department of Geology University of Delhi C-520, SFS Sheik Sarai-I, New Delhi-110017.	Member
7.	Representative of National Remote Sensing Agency, Hyderabad, not below the rank of Additional Director	Member
8.	Dr. V.B.Mathur Head Faculty of Wildlife Sciences, Post Box #18, Chandrabani Dehradun - 248001 Uttarakhand	Member
9.	Member Secretary, CPCB or his representative, not below the rank of Additional Director	Member
10.	Shri S. Seshadri (Ex Member(Thermal), Central Electricity Authority, A-18, HUDCO Place, Andrews Ganj, New Delhi-110049	Member
11.	Shri T.K.Dhar 31-B, Mansarovar Apartments, Sector-61, Noida-201301. (U.P.)	Member
12.	Dr. P.L. Ahuja Rai Director, Ministry of Environment and Forests New Delhi.	Member Secretary

- 2. The terms of reference of the Committee will be as follows:-
- (i) To scrutinize the proposals relating to Thermal Power and Coal Mine Projects for prescribing Terms of Reference (TORs) for undertaking detailed EIA study.
- (ii) To scrutinize the environmental impact assessment reports of Thermal Power and Coal Mine Projects and Environmental Management Plan prepared and submitted by the project authorities.

- (iii) To recommend clearance or rejection of the Thermal Power and Coal Mine Projects from environmental angle. Recommendation for rejection of any project will contain comprehensive reasons therefor.
- (iv) To suggest adequate safeguards to mitigate the adverse environmental impacts in respect of projects recommended for approval.
- 3. The Committee shall adopt the following procedure for approval:-
- (i) The Committee shall meet at least in a month on a fixed date/period.
- (ii) The agenda for the meeting shall be circulated to all the members 15 days prior to the scheduled meeting by the Member Secretary.
- (iii) The appraisal of the proposal shall be completed ordinarily in a single meeting and a specific recommendation made. In case the Committee finds that additional information required for considering the proposal cannot be furnished by the project proponent in the meeting itself that then at the request of the project proponent concerned, the consideration of the proposal may be deferred to the next meeting. The Committee will provide recommendations in respect of any projects under the following three mutually exclusive categories:-
  - (a) Recommended
  - (b) Deferred [for consideration in the next or future meeting as may be specified in the Committee deliberations, after submission of required additional information to be further reviewed/examined by the EAC].
  - (c) Rejected [along with reasons for rejection].
- (iv) A site visit as part of the appraisal process may be undertaken where it considered necessary for reasons to be recorded by the Committee, with the prior approval of the Ministry. The site visit team shall comprise of not more than three members.
- (v) Minutes of each meeting shall be finalised within 5 working days after the meeting.
- 4. The tenure of the Committee shall be for a period of 3 years from the date of issue of this order.
- 5. Meetings of the Committee normally shall be organised in Delhi. However, in special cases, with the prior concurrence of the Ministry, a meeting may be held elsewhere in the country.
- 6. The Committee may co-opt an expert as a member in a relevant field for particular meeting of the Committee with prior approval of the Ministry.

7. The TA/DA of the members/co-opted experts/independent experts nominated by the Ministry for attending the meeting of the Committee or undertaking site visits approved by the Ministry shall be met by the Ministry of Environment and Forests as

per rules. The Chairman and other members of the Committee are entitled to travel by Air by the shortest route by Air India and as per Rules.

- 8. The non-official members/co-opted experts/independent nominated experts attending the Committee meetings/site visits are also entitled for honorarium of Rs. 3000/- per day and road mileage as per Government Rules.
- 9. This issues with the concurrence of IFD vide their Dy. No. 919/AS(FA)/F/10 dated 11<sup>th</sup> June , 2010 and with the approval of the Competent Authority

(Dr. Nalini Bhat) Scientist 'G'

## Copy to:

- (i) The Chairman and all Members of the Committee
- (ii) All officers of IA Division

## Copy for information to:-

- 1. PS to Minister for Environment and Forests (Independent Charge)
- 2. PPS to Secretary (E&F)
- 3. PPS to Additional Secretary (IA)
- 4. Website, MoEF
- 5. Guard File

(Dr. Nalini Bhat) Scientist 'G'