MINUTES OF THE 38thMEETING OF THE NATIONAL COASTAL ZONE MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY HELD ON 18.06.2019 AT NEW DELHI.

The 38thMeeting of the National Coastal Zone Management Authority (NCZMA) was held on 18.06.2019 under the chairmanship of Secretary (EF&CC). The list of participants, including members of NCZMA and the representatives from Coastal Zone Management Authorities in the State/UTs is given at **Annexure**. The deliberations held and decisions taken in the meeting are as under:

1. Presentation on ICRZ Plans of Andaman & Nicobar:

Director, NCSCM, Chennai presented the status of ICRZ plans and IIMPs of Andaman & Nicobar Islands. He also highlighted the observations of the Technical Scrutiny Committee on the four Islands of the A&N viz. Middle Andaman, Car Nicobar, Great Nicobar and Kamorta. He stated that the Technical Scrutiny Committee has found the ICRZ Plans of Middle Andaman, Car Nicobar, Great Nicobar Islands and IIMP of Kamorta Island are in order and can be considered for approval.

Based on the deliberations held, the NCZMA recommended its approval of the ICRZ Plans of Middle Andaman, Car Nicobar, Great Nicobar Islands and IIMP of Kamorta Island prepared based on 2011 notifications.

2. Presentation by Lakshadweep Coastal Zone Management Authority on amendment of IIMPs of Minicoy, Suheliand Kadmat:

A presentation on the revision of IIMPs in respect of Kadamat, Suheli and Minicoy Islands of Lakshadweep was made by Director, NCSCM, Chennai. The UT administration has proposed to promote tourism projects in these Islandsfor which NCSCM, Chennai has made some guidelinesfor construction of water villas based on tourism carrying capacity carried out for these Islands. He also informed the observations of the Technical Scrutiny Committee and stated that the revised IIMPs are in order and can be considered for approval. It was also reiterated that as stated in the last meeting, the selection of the Island for proposed tourism projects shall be based on the developments proposed in the IIMP and keeping in mind the recommendations of Justice Raveendran Committee Report endorsed by the Hon'ble Supreme Court.

The NCZMA noted that the IIMPsare elaborate and in consonance with the suggestions/recommendations made in the tourism carrying capacity of the Islands. The NCZMA decided that the water villas project may be undertaken subject to the adequate mitigation measures as suggested in the guidelines formulated by NCSCM and the due approvals by the sectoral Expert Appraisal Committee.

3. Presentation on issues with approved CZMPs of West Bengal:

West Bengal Coastal Zone Management Authority (WBCZMA) has informed the Ministry on two unaddressed issues on the CZMP of the State and stated that WBCZMA was to submit the following: (i) notifications issued by Urban Development Department, Government of West Bengal related to areas under the local Development Authorities; and (ii) depth wise salinity data along Hoogli River with geographical coordinates of sampling points from NABL accredited laboratory for fixing the northern limit of CRZ. They have informed that whereas they have decided to drop their eservation on the first item, the response of NCSCM on correction of CZMP based on observed salinity data is still pending.

The NCZMA deliberated the issues and decided that necessary corrections shall be made by NCSCM and final version of the CZMPs (where necessary) printed for immediate handing over to West Bengal Coastal Zone Management Authority for their further action.

4. Any other item with the permission of the Chair:

There being no agenda item left the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

ANNEXURE

S.N.	Name of Participant	Organisation	
1.	Shri C.K. Mishra,	MoEFCC, New Delhi	
	Secretary		
2.	Shri Ritesh Kumar Singh,	MoEFCC, New Delhi	
	Joint Secretary		
3.	Dr. Utpal Sharma	A&N Administration	
	Special Secretary		
4.	Dr. R. Ramesh, Director	NCSCM, Chennai	
5.	Shri S.K Bhandari,	A&N Administration	
	PCCF& Member Secretary,		
	ANCZMA		
6.	Shri P. Pooleonya	Lakshadweep Administration	
	Member Secretary, Lakshadweep		
	CZMA		
7.	Shri S. Surendra	Ministry of Housing & Urban	
	Additional Chief Planner	Affairs	
8.	Shri ShreeshailHegde,	Ministry of Home Affairs	
	Director		
9.	Shri P.K. Durai	Ministry of Home Affairs	
	Town Planner		
10.	Shri VikasRustagi, ADG	Ministry of Tourism	
11.	Shri Ashok Kumar	Ministry of Defence	
	Deputy Secretary		
12.	Comdt. Asheesh Sharma	Indian Coast Guard	
	Joint Director (FE)		
13.	Shri NirajSinghal	Government of West Bengal	
	Member Secretary, West Bengal		
	CZMA,		
14.	Shri. Ashok Chauhan	Government of Gujarat	
	Under Secretary, Forests &		
	Environment Dept.,		
15.	Dr. IdreesBabu	Lakshadweep Administration	
	Scientist, Lakshadweep CZMA		
16.	Shri. Pravin P	ICAR, New Delhi	
17.	Shri M. Dharma Raj	NCSCM, Chennai	
18.	Shri W. Bharat Singh,	MoEF&CC	
	Director (CRZ)		
19.	Dr. P. Saranya,	MoEF&CC	
	Deputy Director (CRZ)		