Botanical Survey of India

Botanical Survey of India

Brief Introduction, objectives and functions:

Botanical Survey of India (BSJ) establis hed on 13th February 1890,is the apex research organization under the Minist1y of Envi ronment Forest and Climate Change, Govt. of India, carrying out the taxonomic/flo ristic studies on wild plant resow·ces of the cou nt1y with an objective  to explore  the plant  resources of  the country. Presently, BSI  has 11 regional centres with its headquarters at Kolkata and actively engaged in inventorying the floral resources of wide array of ecosystems from coastal sea to high mountain ranges of Himalayas covering all the state and union territories.

BSI with Headquarters at Kolkata and following Regional Centres/ field offices/ laboratories:

  1. AJC Bose Indian Botanic Garden, Howrah
  2. Central Botanical Laboratory , Howrah
  3. Ind ustrial Sectio n, Indian Museum, Kolkata
  4. Central National Herbarium, Howrah
  5. Arunachal Pradesh Regiona l Centre , Itanag ar
  6. Eastern Regional Centre, Shillong
  7. Sikkim Himalayan Regiona l Centre , Ga ngtok
  8. Central Regional Centre, Allahabad
  9. Northern Regiona l Centre,
  10. Arid Zone Regional Centre, Jodhpur

l l.    Western Regional Centre, Pune

  1. Deccan Regional Centre, Hyderabad
  2. Southern Regiona l Centre, Coimbatore
  3. Andaman & Nicobar Regional Centre, Port Blair
  4. Botanic Garden Of Indian Republic, Naida


For more details please visit the website :