Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar

Home » Economic Division » Environmental Information(EI) » Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar

Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar

In reverential memory of late Prime Minister Smt. Indira Gandhi, the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, in the year 1987, instituted an award called the Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar to give recognition to those having made or have the potential to make measurable and major impact in the protection of environment. In the beginning, one cash prize of ₹ 1,00,000/- was awarded to either an individual or an organization of India in recognition of their exceptional and outstanding contributions in the field of environment. Presently, the award comprises of two prizes of ₹ 5,00,000/- each under ‘Organization Category’ and three prizes of ₹ 5,00,000/-, ₹ 3,00,000/- and ₹ 2,00,000/- each under ‘Individual Category’. Along with the cash prize, each awardee is given a Silver Lotus Trophy, Scroll and Citation. The award is given annually and an advertisement inviting nominations for IGPP is released every year on 15th of July in national dailies with regional coverage.

As per the Regulations governing IGPP‘, revised in 2010, any citizen of India having at least 10 years work experience in the field of Environment (substantiated in support of his experience by published/ field work)/ NGO working in the field of environment with at least five years experience/ Environment and Forests Departments of States/UTs/State Pollution Control Board/District Collector/Magistrate can propose a name of any citizen or organization of India who has at least five years working experience in the field of environment. There is no age limit for nomination of individual. However, self nominations and nominations proposed by relatives are not considered.

Shortlisting of nominations received for IGPP is carried out by three Expert Members, selected by the Prime Minister’s Office, out of a panel of 9 eminent environmentalists/ persons prepared by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change. Selection of awardees out of the shortlisted nominations is done by the Environmental Prize Committee constituted under the Chairmanship of Hon’ble Vice President of India.

While selecting the awardees the term “environment’ is interpreted in the broadest sense possible and comprising of following areas of work:

  • Prevention of pollution
  • Conservation of natural resources
  • Rational use of depletable resources
  • Environmental planning and management
  • Environmental impact assessment
  • Outstanding field work (innovative research work) for enrichment of environment e.g. afforestation, land reclamation, water treatment, air purification etc.
  • Environmental education
  • Creating awareness of environmental issues
Committees/ Commissions :

The Environmental Prize Committee for the Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) has the following composition:

1. Vice-President of India Chairperson
2. Speaker of Lok Sabha Member
3. Minister for Environment and Forests Member
4. Expert Members Members
5. Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change Member Secretary

The Committee was re-constituted on 7 February, 2014 with the introduction of 3 fresh Expert Members selected by the Prime Minister of India. The Committee henceforth will have a tenure of 2 years.

List of Previous Awardees of Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) :
S.No. Year Category IGPP Awardee
1 1987 Organization Bombay Natural History Society, Mumbai, Maharashtra
2 1988 Organization Kerala Sastra Sahitya Parishad, Kerala
3 1989 Organization Samaj Parivartana Samudaya, Dharwad, Karnataka
4 1990 Individual Shri Sant Kumar Bishnoi, Punjab(Associated with All India Jeev Raksha Bishnoi Sabha)
5 1991 Individual Shri S. P. Godrej (Associated with World Wide Fund for Nature)
6 1991 Organization Dasholi Gram Swarajya Mandal, Garhwal, Uttarakhand
7 1992 Individual Dr. Shivarama Karanth K., Dakshin Kannada, Karnataka
8 1992 Organization 127-Infantry Battalion (T.A.) Ecological, Dehradun, Uttarakhand
9 1993 Individual Dr. T. N. Khoshoo, New Delhi
10 1993 Organization Young Mizo Association, Mizoram
11 1994 Individual Smt. Radha Bhatt, Kasturba Gandhi National Memorial Trust, Indore, Madhya Pradesh
12 1994 Organization Tarun Bharat Sangh, Alwar, Rajasthan
13 1995 Individual Shri Natwar Thakkar, Nagaland Gandhi Ashram, Mokokchung, Nagaland
14 1995 Organization Mechanised Infantry Regimental Centre, Ahmednagar, Maharashtra
15 1996 Individual Shri Anupam Mishra, Gandhi Peace Foundation, New Delhi
16 1996 Organization C.P.R. Environmental Education Centre, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
17 1997 Individual Shri J. C. Daniel, Mumbai, Maharashtra
18 1997 Organization Centre for Environment Education, Ahmedabad, Gujarat
19 1998 Individual Shri Jagdish Ranganath Godbole, Pune, Maharashtra
20 1998 Organization The Barefoot College of Social Work Research Centre, Ajmer, Rajasthan
21 1999 Individual Shri Piare Lal, Jallandhar, Punjab
22 1999 Organization Ryan Foundation, Mumbai, Maharashtra
23 2000 Individual Dr. Ramesh Bedi (Posthumously), Punjab
24 2000 Organization Captive Power Plant, National Aluminium Co.Ltd., Angul, Odisha
25 2001 Individual Shri. Girish Gandhi, Maharashtra
26 2001 Organization Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
27 2002 Individual Rev. Fr. Koyapillil Mathai Matthew, SJ (Posthumously), Kodaikannal, Tamil Nadu
28 2002 Organization Chilika Development Authority, Odisha
29 2003 Individual Dr. Bindeshwar Pathak, New Delhi
30 2003 Organization The Garhwal Rifles Regimental Centre, Lansdowne, Uttarakhand
31 2004 Individual Ms. Jyotsna Sitling, Uttarakhand
32 2004 Organization Malayala Manorama, Kerala
33 2005 Organization Sant Gadge Baba Amrawati University, Amrawati, Maharashtra
34 2005 Individual Shri Jagadish Babla, Dehradun, Uttarakhand
35 2005 Individual Dr. Amrita Patel, Anand, Gujarat
36 2006 Organization Bongaigaon Refinery (IOCL), Chirang, Assam (Jointly)
37 2006 Organization 130 Infantry Battalion (T.A.) Ecological, Pithoragarh, Uttarakhand (Jointly)
38 2006 Individual Dr. J. Raghava Rao, Chennai , Tamil Nadu
39 2006 Individual Smt. S. Annapurna, Vizianagaram, Andhra Pradesh
40 2007 Organization BAIF Institute for Rural Development, Tiptur, Karnataka (Jointly)
41 2007 Organization Antoday Nirbal Durbal Shoshit Mahila Evam Bal Uthaan Kalyan Samiti, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh (Jointly)
42 2007 Individual Shri. Afzal Khatri & Smt. Nusrat Khatri, Mumbai, Maharashtra
43 2007 Individual Dr. Rachna Gaur, Rajsamand, Rajasthan
44 2008 Organization ISHA Foundation, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
45 2009 Organization Neyveli Lignite Corporation Limited, Neyveli, Tamil Nadu
46 2009 Organization Care Earth, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
47 2009 Individual Prof. C. R. Babu, New Delhi
48 2009 Individual Shri Vijay Jardhari, Jardhargaon, Uttarakhand
49 2010 Organization 21st Battalion, the Jat Regiment, Assam
50 2010 Organization Joygopalpur Gram Vikas Kendra, 24 Parganas (South), West Bengal
51 2010 Individual Dr. Anil Sharma, Sirmour, Himachal Pradesh
52 2010 Individual Shri Kartick Satyanarayanan, New Delhi
53 2010 Individual Dr. N. Ramesh, Puducherry
54 2011 Organization Indian Farmers Fertiliser Cooperative Ltd. (IFFCO), Phulpur Unit, Uttar Pradesh
55 2011 Organization 128 Infantry Battalion (TA) Ecological Rajputana Rifles, Rajasthan
56 2011 Individual Shri Ramesh Sharma, Chhattisgarh
57 2011 Individual Shri Sharda Prasad Singh, Uttar Pradesh
58 2011 Individual Shri Sachchidanand Bharati, Uttarakhand
59 2012 Organization Aaranyak, Assam
60 2012 Organization Durgapur Steel Plant, West Bengal
61 2012 Individual Shri Biswajit Mukherjee, West Bengal
62 2012 Individual Shri Jigmet Takpa, Jammu & Kashmir
63 2012 Individual Smt.Seema S. Redkar, Maharashtra