1. Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) — Autonomous
organization. The Institutes and Centres under ICFRE are as under:


  • Forest Research Institute, Dehradun.
  • Tropical Forest Research Institute, Jabalpur.
  • Arid Forest Research Institute, Jodhpur.
  • Himalayan Forest Research Institute, Shimla.
  • Institute of Forest Productivity, Ranchi.
  • Institute of Forest Biodiversity, Hyderabad.
  • Institute of Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding, Coimbatore.
  • Rain Forest Research Institute, Jorhat.
  • Institute of Wood Science and Technology, Bengaluru.


  • Forest Research Centre for Skill Development, Chhindwara.
  • Forest Research Centre for Bamboo & Rattan, Aizawl.
  • Forest Research Centre for Eco-Rehabilitation, Prayagraj.
  • Forest Research Centre for Livehood Extension, Agartala.

2. Directorate  of Forest Education — Subordinate Office. Four Central Academies under DFE are as under:

  • Central Academy for State Forest Service, Dehradun (Uttarakhand).
  • Central Academy for State Forest Service, Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu).
  • Central Academy for State Forest Service, Burnihat (Assam).
  • Central Academy of Forest Education, Kurseong (West Bengal).

3 Wildlife Crime Control Bureau — Subordinate Office. Five Regional offices under WCCB are as under:

  • Southern Region, Chennai.
  • Eastern Region, Kolkata.
  • Western Region, Mumbai.
  • Central Region, Jabalpur.
  • Northern Region, New Delhi.
  • Three sub-regional offices at Guwahati, Amritsar and Cochin.

4. Forest Survey of India — Subordinate Office. The Regional offices under FSI are as under:

  • Central Zone, Nagpur.
  • Eastern Zone, Kolkata.
  • Northern Zone, Shimla.
  • Southern Zone, Bangalore.

5. Indira Gandhi National Forest Academy — Subordinate Office.
6. National Zoological Park — Subordinate Office.

Forestry establishment matters relating to all the Union Territories of India (except Andaman & Nicobar Forest Plantation Development Corporation), and general references in respect of front line staff of state forest Deptts. are also handled in FE Division.

Back to Previous Page | Last Updated date: 10-09-2021