



National Mission on Himalayan Studies (NMHS)

1st Call for Demand-Driven Action Research Projects – NMHS 2023-24

Realizing the significance of the Himalaya in the sustainable development of the nation, the "National Mission on Himalayan Studies (NMHS)" is being implemented since 2015-16 across the Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) with a Vision "to support the sustenance and enhancement of the ecological, natural, cultural and socio-economic capital assets and values of the Indian Himalayan Region (IHR)".

For the current year 2023-24, professional services are invited under NMHS from eminent Professionals working in reputed Institutions/Universities/Organizations equipped with adequate resources and prior proven demand-driven action Research and Development (R&D) experience, addressing one or more of the following Identified Thrust Areas under specific Broad Thematic Areas (BTAs). The proposals submitted under NMHS should complement national campaigns such as "Vibrant Village Programme (VVP)", "Lifestyle for Environment (LiFE)", "Self-Reliant Bharat", "Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan" as well as supplement the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), India's Nationally Determined Contributions (INDCs) in the IHR. The project proposals should also take cognizance of the NMHS cross-cutting themes, i.e. gender equality and climate change.

The identified Thrust Areas for submission of proposals under different BTAs of NMHS are as follows:

S#	Identified Thrust Areas	BTAs
1.	Multi-hazard risk assessment-integrated assessment framework; predictive modeling and impact assessment Ground based models of innovative low-cost early warning systems for climate and water induced hazards Long term monitoring of ecological health of high-altitude wetlands	Water Resource Management
2.	Eco-smart Village development models for border villages to complement vibrant village program towards green skill building and sustainable livelihood	Livelihood Options and Employment Generation/ Skill Development and Capacity Building
3.	 Advance data analytics towards Himalayan biodiversity information systems (HBIS) using AI and ML Strengthening Himalayan biodiversity information systems (HBIS) for IHR states Landscape based one health approaches for disease surveillance in wild animals 	Biodiversity Conservation and Management
4.	Climate-Resilient Rural and Urban Infrastructure planning Green energy based rural enterprise business models	Infrastructure Development
5.	 Innovative technology for the recycling and upcycling non-biodegradable waste ensuring extended producer responsibility Bio-conversion of food and other biodegradable waste from community kitchens/hotels into energy and other nutrients Waste water recycling and management for industrial, domestic and community-based solutions 	Handling of Waste

Note: *List of Identified Border districts of IHR is available as Annexure 1.

The interested professionals from reputed Institutions/ agencies may submit the research proposal in the prescribed format in their area(s) of expertise along with the Endorsement Certificate from the Head of the Institution and detailed bio-data of the PI and Co-PIs. The detailed project submission guidelines and prescribed formats for preparing Project Proposal are available on the website of the NMHS-PMU: http://nmhs.org.in.

Proposal Submission Procedure: The complete proposal prepared in the prescribed NMHS format in any of the aforementioned Identified Thrust Areas should be **submitted through Online Portal of NMHS:** https://newprojectsubmission.nmhs-himal.res.in/ before 05:00 PM on 29th September 2023.

National Mission on Himalayan Studies (NMHS)

List of Identified border districts

Sr.No.		States/UTs
	District	
1	Chamoli	Uttarakhand
2	Pithoragarh	Uttarakhand
3	Uttarkashi	Uttarakhand
4	East Sikkim	Sikkim
5	North Sikkim	Sikkim
6	Leh	Ladakh (UT)
7	Kinnaur	Himachal Pradesh
8	Lahaul & Spiti	Himachal Pradesh
9	Anjaw	Arunachal Pradesh
10	Dibang Valley	Arunachal Pradesh
11	East Kameng	Arunachal Pradesh
12	Kra Daadi	Arunachal Pradesh
13	Kurung Kumey	Arunachal Pradesh
14	Lower Dibang Valley	Arunachal Pradesh
15	Shi Yomi	Arunachal Pradesh
16	Tawang	Arunachal Pradesh
17	Upper Siang	Arunachal Pradesh
18	Upper Subansiri	Arunachal Pradesh
19	West Kameng	Arunachal Pradesh